Beethoven 4

Concertmaster Susanna Perry Gilmore steps into the spotlight with Lukas Foss’s ode to American folk music, bookended by Sarah Kirkland Snider’s evocative If you bring forth what is within you and Beethoven’s introspective Symphony No. 4.

Sunday, Jan 7 | 2:00 PM


Ankush Kumar Bahl Music Director More
Susanna Perry Gilmore Concertmaster More

Program Info

  • SARAH KIRKLAND SNIDER: If you bring forth what is within you (Suite from The Blue Hour)

  • FOSS: Three American Pieces for violin and orchestra

  • BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4

Under the direction of Maestro Ankush Kumar Bahl, the Omaha Symphony presents an immersive and introspective program. Sarah Kirkland Snider's If you bring forth what is within you (from The Blue Hour) is a powerful suite that explores themes of humanity and the natural world and in the words of the composer, “uses as its text Carolyn Forché’s poem On Earth, which catalogs the scattered thoughts, visions, and imagery of a life passing ever closer to death...” Watch Susanna Perry Gilmore shine as she performs Three American Pieces for Violin and Orchestra by Lukas Foss, a three-movement work noted for its incorporation of elements of American folk music, which gives it a distinctly American sound. The program closes with Beethoven's beloved Fourth Symphony, a work that showcases the composer's signature virtuosity and emotional depth.

Program Notes

Find your program notes for this concert on the Omaha Symphony app or click on the button below.

Listen Ahead

Create your own package and save!

Save 10% when you create your own package of three or more shows!

Programs, artists, dates, and times subject to change.