Appalachian Spring

Renowned conductor Paul Haas leads the Omaha Symphony in a program with Copland’s Appalachian Spring for 13 instruments and the Vaughan Williams Tuba Concerto featuring Principal Tuba Craig Fuller.

Sunday, Mar 17 | 2:00 PM


Paul Haas Conductor More
Craig Fuller Principal Tuba More

Program Info

  • BARTOK: Romanian Folk Dances

  • COPLAND: Appalachian Spring (for 13 instruments)

  • VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: Tuba Concerto

  • ARVO PART: Fratres for Strings and Percussion

  • WILLIAM GRANT STILL: Mother and Child

Check out our other Symphony Joslyn performances here.

Jumpstart your spring with an afternoon led by conductor Paul Haas. The Appalachian Spring suite for 13 instruments captures the essence of the orchestral score for which Copland won a Pulitzer Prize. This condensed version equally portrays the celebration of the American frontier and highlights themes of hope, optimism, and new beginnings. Then, enjoy the rich and lyrical qualities of the tuba as Principal Tuba Craig Fuller takes center stage to perform the Vaughan Williams Tuba Concerto. Considered one of the most important works in the tuba repertoire, the concerto has been praised for its inventive and imaginative use of the tuba, and its ability to showcase the instrument's versatility and expressiveness.

Program Notes

Find your program notes for this concert on the Omaha Symphony app or click on the button below.

Subscribe to get the best seats at the best price

Save 10% when you create your own package of three or more shows!

Programs, artists, dates, and times subject to change.

Sponsored By