Maestro Conducts Respighi

Behold the sounds of the organ, an extraordinary and timeless instrument featured in Respighi’s Suite for Organ and Strings, followed by Omaha Symphony’s Assistant Principal Oboe and English Horn Heather Baxter and Associate Principal Trumpet Federico Montes make their soloist debuts in front of the orchestra in Copland’s Quiet City.

Sunday, May 19 | 2:00 PM


Ankush Kumar Bahl Music Director More
Federico Montes Associate Principal Trumpet More
Heather Baxter Assistant Principal Oboe and English Horn More

Program Info

  • RESPIGHI: Suite for Organ and Strings

  • COPLAND: Quiet City

  • ELENA RUEHR: Shimmer

  • RESPIGHI: Trittico Boticelliano

Showcasing the glorious organ at the Strauss Performing Arts Center at UNO, the afternoon opens with Ottorino Respighi’s stirring Suite for Organ and Strings. Watch Susanna Perry Gilmore shine as she performs one of Vaughan Williams’ lesser-known works, Concerto Accademico, praised for its virtuosic use of the violin, its imaginative orchestration, and colorful soundscapes. Strongly inspired by the energetic string music of Vivaldi amidst modern harmonic language, Elena Ruehr’s Shimmer shines in its own way. A perfect companion to this Joslyn Series concert is Respighi's Trittico Botticelliano, a vivid musical depiction of three famous paintings by Sandro Botticelli, The Adoration of the Magi, The Birth of Venus, and Primavera.

Create your own package to get the best seats at the best price

Save 10% when you create your own package of three or more shows!

Programs, artists, dates, and times subject to change.