Ax Plays Mozart

World renowned GRAMMY®-winning pianist Emanuel Ax joins the Omaha Symphony in a performance of one of Mozart’s grandest piano works, Piano Concerto No. 25.

Holland Center
Friday, Sep 22 | 7:30 PM
Saturday, Sep 23 | 7:30 PM


Ankush Kumar Bahl Music Director More
Emanuel Ax Piano

Program Info

  • MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 25

  • CHOPIN: Andante Spianato & Grande Polonaise

  • BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2

Opening the season with a bang, the Omaha Symphony is joined by legendary GRAMMY®-winning pianist Emanuel Ax performing one of Mozart’s grandest concerti, Piano Concerto No. 25. The Los Angeles Times describes Ax, “His greatness, his overwhelming authority as musician, technician, and probing intellect emerges quickly as he plays. Within minutes, we are totally captured by his intensity and pianistic achievement.” Also on the program is Chopin’s soloist showcase, the Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise, a work that spans breathtaking beauty and dizzying brilliance in a matter of moments. Ending on an uplifting note, the pastoral and optimistic nature of Brahms’ beloved Symphony No. 2 envelops you in rich harmonies, lush melodies, and masterful orchestration.

Program Notes

Find your program notes for this concert on the Omaha Symphony app or click on the button below.

Special After Hours performance Friday

Get up close and casual with Emanuel Ax for a bonus performance directly after Friday evening’s concert in the Orchestra Level lobby. Concertmaster Susanna Perry Gilmore and Principal Cello Paul Ledwon join the acclaimed pianist for a bonus performance of some brilliant musical selections. Come witness the legendary Ax himself, along with two of Omaha’s greatest musicians, and be treated to an experience like none other. Bar service will still be available for the duration of the After Hours presentation.

Livestream postponed

Due to the threat of inclement weather, Saturday's livestream in the park will be rescheduled for a later program. The Saturday, September 23rd performance will still be broadcast live on KVNO 90.7 Classical Radio.

Subscribe to get the best seats at the best price

Single tickets for this concert go on sale in August. Subscribe to the 7-concert Masterworks series, starting at just $150 and secure your seats now. As a season ticket holder, you can save up to 20%, plus more benefits.

Don't want to subscribe to a series? Save 10% when you create your own package of three or more shows!

Programs, artists, dates, and times subject to change.

Sponsored By