RELEASE: Omaha Symphony musicians perform epic cornerstones of string and wind repertoire

Strings shine in Dvořák’s String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 97 “American”
Winds present hidden gems of the chamber music repertory by Fine, Arnold and Nielsen

OMAHA, Neb., Jan. 28, 2021 — Whether a composer becomes a household name in classical music-loving collective or remains lesser-known, one common thread can be laid bare: there is so much little-known chamber music treasure to be uncovered. While Dvořák’s “American” string quartet is hardly obscure, it’s much less ubiquitous than the so-called “New World Symphony”; and it remains true that, unless one is an enthusiast for woodwind chamber music, the likes of Irving Fine and Carl Nielsen may never have come across one’s musical consciousness.

A select few musicians of the Omaha Symphony, in different iterations, take the stage to perform works by these composers as well as Rossini, Arnold and Reger for a celebration of chamber music at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 4 at the Holland Performing Arts Center Peter Kiewit Hall.

The first in a series of three innovative chamber music concerts from the musicians of the Omaha Symphony, Chamber Series — First Movement features some of the orchestra’s best in various combinations performing chamber music treasures and hidden gems. The evening features Susanna Perry Gilmore and Frank Seligman (violin), Thomas Kluge (viola), Tim Strang (cello), Dani Meier (bass), Patrick Tsuji (flute), Rosario Galante (clarinet), Nick Nelson (bassoon) and Ross Snyder (horn).

“At first appearance, it may seem that the composers on this particular program don’t share a common thread,” said Dani Meier, Omaha Symphony Vice President of Artistic Administration and section bassist. “But each work was hand-selected for this combination of musicians – it perfectly showcases the strengths of these individuals and allows them to shine in ways that a full symphonic performance might not. We are so excited to share this special evening with our community!”


FINE: Partita for Wind Quintet

ROSSINI: Duet for Cello & Bass, I: Allegro

ARNOLD: Three Shanties for Wind Quintet

REGER: Lyrisches Andante for String Quintet

NIELSEN: “Serenade in Vain”

DVOŘÁK: String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, “American”

The concert, designed by Meier and the musicians, builds upon the cornerstones of the Omaha Symphony’s centennial season programming: “The goal for our new chamber music concerts is to tie back to our Masterworks series this year,” Meier continued. “Each concert features an exploration of the chamber music writing of one of the great masters on the larger symphonic concerts – that way, audiences have the opportunity to experience, compare and contrast incredible composition on different scales.”

The season opened with Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8 in G Major, and the Omaha Symphony strings will present one of the Czech composer’s most beloved string quartets – String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, “American.” The winds will preview the dexterous and innovative writing of Malcolm Arnold, performing the one of his most beloved chamber works, “Three Shanties for Wind Quintet.” Later in the season, audiences will be in for a treat as the Omaha Symphony performs Arnold’s “Four Scottish Dances.”

The program is rounded out by woodwind chamber music staple composer Carl Nielsen’s “Serenade in Vain,” Irving Fine’s “Partita for Woodwind Quintet,” Rossini’s “Duet for Cello and Bass” and Max Reger’s “Lyrisches Andante for String Quintet.”

Ticketing Information

Tickets for Chamber Series — First Movement start at $20. Tickets can be purchased by visiting, through the Ticket Omaha app or by calling Ticket Omaha at 402.345.0606. Performance dates are subject to change. In the event of performance changes or cancellations, the Omaha Symphony will email ticket holders to inform them of new dates and ticketing options. Patrons with questions may email The Omaha Symphony also regularly posts performance updates at, along with the Omaha Symphony’s Twitter, Facebook and Instagram pages. Patrons can sign up for the latest updates at

Public Health Information

Performances at the Holland Performing Arts Center feature physically distanced seating and will only be seated at a maximum of 30 percent capacity. All patrons will be required to complete a health screening questionnaire prior to accessing their mobile tickets via the Ticket Omaha app. Masks are required at indoor Omaha Symphony performances. The following changes have been implemented within the venue:

  • Enhanced Cleaning & Sanitation - Electrostatic technology disinfecting large common areas, enhanced sanitizing of high touch surfaces with hospital grade disinfectant and hand sanitizing stations throughout the venue
  • Heating and Cooling System – Upgrades to air handling units includes bipolar ionization filtering out viruses through ventilation
  • Staff Precautions – Staff and volunteers are required to complete a health screening upon entrance to the building, wear face masks and receive temperature checks.
  • Touchless Experience – Tickets are accessible via the Ticket Omaha app. Tickets can also be printed at Will Call. Program notes will be delivered digitally.

Find the most up to date public health information at

The Omaha Symphony is a non-profit organization that presents more than 100 live orchestral performances from September through June. In addition to Masterworks, Symphony Pops, Symphony Rocks, Movies, Symphony Joslyn, and Family series concerts, the Omaha Symphony’s nationally recognized education and community engagement programs touch the lives of more than 40,000 people each year. For tickets or information regarding the Omaha Symphony, call 402-345-0606 or visit Programs, artists, dates, times, prices, and availability are subject to change