Daphnis et Chloé

Simone Porter makes her debut with the Omaha Symphony in her performance of Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E minor; the evening ends with Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé.

Holland Center
Friday, Apr 29 | 7:30 PM
Saturday, Apr 30 | 7:30 PM


Lidiya Yankovskaya Conductor More
Simone Porter Violin More

Program Info

  • BOULANGER: D’un matin de printemps

  • MENDELSSOHN: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64

  • DEBUSSY: Ibéria, No.2 from Images

  • RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No. 2

The Omaha Symphony presents a night of evocative French repertoire under the baton of conductor Lidiya Yankovskaya. First is Lili Boulanger’s D’un matin de printemps, a vibrant and tonally explorative work that employs colorful use of the entire orchestra. Violinist Simone Porter makes her debut with the Omaha Symphony, bringing her electric energy to the stage in a performance of Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E minor. The evening ends with two composers often named together, but with distinct styles; Debussy’s ethereal Ibéria, a vibrant daydream of Spain, and Suite No. 2 from Ravel’s ballet Daphnis et Chloé, a romantic, lush foray into fantasy.

Program Notes

We've gone digital—you won't see physical program books at the concert hall anymore. Instead, find your program notes on the Omaha Symphony app or online here. You can also read more about our switch to digital programs here.

Want a version you can print at home and bring with you to the concert? We've got you covered. Find it below!

Audio Program Notes

Omaha Symphony Vice President of Artistic Administration Dani Meier reads your program notes—whether you are visually impaired or just prefer audio, you can take a listen below!

Omaha Symphony · Daphnis et Chloé - Audio Program Notes

Best Price on Friday

Check out Friday evening for the best availability and the best price.

Sponsored By