Omaha Symphony Buy Tickets

Fresh Ink - New Music Symposium


May 14 - 16, 2015 in Omaha, NE


Score Submission Deadline: February 2, 2015



Click here to download an information packet for


Fresh Ink - New Music Symposium.




The Omaha Symphony New Music Symposium (Fresh Ink) is designed to provide vital enrichment experiences for young composers.  The Symposium will consist of reading sessions by a professional orchestra - a rare opportunity for young composers to test their skills in a real-life laboratory setting - and the opportunity to work directly with master composer John Corigliano, Omaha Symphony Music Director Thomas Wilkins, and teams of musicians from the Omaha Symphony.  The event will culminate in a formal public performance.  




Based upon a Call for Scores, a maximum of four composers will be selected.  Each winner will be awarded a $500 cash prize and the opportunity to participate in the Symposium, which includes a public performance.



Composers must be enrolled as a full-time student in a college or university degree program and must have been born after January 1, 1980, to enter the competition.  Applicants must be residents of the United States.



Additional composers will be invited to attend the Symposium as auditors.  Auditors will have the opportunity to observe all Symposium sessions and will have individual meetings with symposium faculty.  Auditors are responsible for making their own travel and housing arrangements. 



The Omaha Symphony Guild will provide lodging for each participant during the symposium.  Winners are responsible for making their own travel arrangements. 



Scores must be postmarked no later than February 2, 2015. 



1)    The composition must be scored for chamber orchestra or chamber ensemble personnel.  Maximum orchestral size:  winds:  2222, brass:  2211, timp + 2 percussion, harp, keyboard, strings 6-6-4-3-2.  Compositions for full chamber strings only will be accepted.  Concertos, works requiring soloists, or compositions for ensembles smaller than eight musicians will not be considered. 


2)    Length should not exceed 15 minutes.  A portion or movement from a longer work may be considered.


3)    Standard instrument doubling is acceptable as long as the total required instrumentation does not exceed the maximum set forth above.


4)    Works employing electronics, MIDI, digital technology or sound reinforcement will not be considered.


5)    The work must be previously unpublished and cannot have been performed or read by a professional orchestra prior to the date of the symposium.


6)    Only one work per composer will be considered.


7)    Applicants must be residents of the United States. 


Please note: a score and one set of parts for each winning composition will remain property of the Omaha Symphony and may be programmed on future Omaha Symphony concerts without further royalty payments to the composer.



1)    Submit two bound copies of your score.  Photocopies are acceptable.


2)    Please use only the last four digits of your social security number as the identification on your score. (Please do not put your name anywhere on the scores themselves.)


3)    Audio and videotapes will not be considered.


4)    Submit a bio and resume including current contact information.


5)    Submit one letter of recommendation from a current composition instructor.


6)    Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope if you wish to have your material returned.


7)    Send all materials to:  New Music Symposium, Omaha Symphony, 1605 Howard Street, Omaha, NE  68102